Fuengirola Troll?

September 18, 2009 at 11:04 (fuengirola, Web) (, , , , , , )

In a recent article about shit websites, a comment was made where one of posters thought I was being ‘trolly’. Now don’t get me wrong I was enjoying the lively debate and I want it to continue, but does that really make me a troll?

Now for the mythologists amongst my readers,  we’re not talking about the large, brutish monster who’s going to eat you, but the internet troll. (See photos).

Internet Troll

Ok, for those that know me there are certain superficial similarities between the photo and me, but going by the definition of what a troll is, I don’t think I fit the description

Definition of a Troll:
a troll is someone who posts controversial, inflammatory, irrelevant or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.

Yes I want a lively debate, and I want people to defend their opinions. Myabe some of the articles could be seen as inflammatory, but I am voicing honest opinions and not simply making broad, sweeping offensive statements to get hits or readers or posts.

So what do you think? Am I a Troll or not?

6 Comments

  1. wolfgangbrand said,

    Just a little one 🙂

    The statement “dont let him get away with that” was a bit provocative and sounded like an invite to more flaming. But nothing to call home about.

    I do enjoy your writing and that other thread it utmost entertaining. Shame Hedwig seams to be gone 😦

    Regards

    Wolfgang Brand

    • Fuengirola said,

      but it was not emotive.

      • wolfgangbrand said,

        “with the primary intent of provoking other users into an emotional response”

        Good definition!

        Wolfgang Brand

  2. wolfgangbrand said,

    Matt Cutt from Google actually recommands that sort of content. He states: “start a war”.

    Wolfgang Brand

  3. Costa del Sol property said,

    That photos does have an odd resemblance. Bit like a caricature (joking)
    I can think of a few things to call you, troll is not one of them though

    Andrew

    • Fuengirola said,

      Arn’t you funny!

Leave a Reply

